Another year has passed. Friends I thought were close have faded from my life. New friends have emerged, and formed bonds that hopefully, will last through the years.  I have had a few heath scares but am now secretly under a doctor’s care. My cousin and I have grown close. She is a great help and has become a second mother to me. I love her dearly and am eternally grateful to her.

I had a plan to help my mother and secure a little freedom, but it wasn’t meant to be. It was one of a few heartbreaks this year.

John is working regularly,  but other than that, not much has changed. One thing did change – our house was sold at the tax auction. John has until October 18th to raise a few thousand dollars. If he doesn’t,  the deed will be issued to the new owners and, unless he works out something with them, he will have to leave the only home he has ever known. I say he instead of we, because, if it comes to that, I will be gone before then. If he has to move, he will likely end up living in his car.

He is still stealing power and driving around with no licence or insurance, plus an expired tag. He spent fifteen days in jail, but it didn’t do any good.

The year has, by no measure, been all bad. I have been incredibly blessed with love and support from friends and family.  My children are blossoming in their own lives. I have learned to knit socks!!

image

I look forward to 2017. My goals are to eat healthier and exercise more, to try new things  and write often. To learn and grow as a person. Hopefully, I can take some online classes and also get my license.  Hopefully, I will gain some independence. Hopefully, I will be more loving and tender hearted in the coming year.

Happy New Year!

image

