John was released from prison on Tuesday. Obviously, he is happy to be back home. He did not lose his job and has already started working again. I told him that there will be some changes around here. He said okay.

Even though he was in a minimum security prison, it was still tough.  There was a lot of black mold on the large air conditioning vent suspended from the ceiling of the room in which about 50 men served their time. There was no privacy ever. There were two tvs in the big room, as well as a few books. John said that he read the Bible all the way through, as well as another book, and read over half of The Davinci Code. He said that there is not a lot for the men to do there. 

He worked in the kitchen as head cook, making over 1300 meals a day. He didn’t eat much while he was there because the food was sub par, plus it was loaded with saltpeter. He seemed to enjoy the work although he said it was hard.

The inmates could buy things at the commissary at hugely inflated prices. A bar of soap is $4. A plastic spoon is $1, which the inmates are required to buy.  Seems like the imprisoned are not the only criminals at the jail.

I wrote several letters to him, which made the other inmates wish for mail. One fellow had not gotten a letter in two years.  John wanted me to send a letter to the fellow. I wrote to him about the hot weather and how I was sure happier days are ahead for him.  My letter made the man cry. 

It made me think how awful prison must be.  There are milions of inmates in facilities across this counrty. They are paying for their crimes, and rightly so.  But they are lonely and any bit of kindness would mean so much to them. They are criminals, but they are also human beings.

When John was released, he was happier to see me than I was to see him. In my next post, I will share what I did while he was imprisoned.

